Three Amazing Pieces of Art Advice You Need.

No, it's not to practice.

Just A Boy
3 min readAug 9, 2022
Photo by Frame Harirak on Unsplash

Learning how to draw is a tedious and intricate process. Sometimes all you need to get through a block is a little advice. This article will be a small collection of the best advice I have heard.

Photo by JOSHUA COLEMAN on Unsplash

Invest in your learning! Finding free videos online and drawing on your own is good. But when you need specific help, invest in a book or a class that will help you. Even if you don’t plan to use art as a revenue stream, it is healthy and fun to invest in your hobbies.

Here is an article to help you find an art book you can learn from. Skill levels range from beginner to expert.

Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

All art has an ugly phase! If you have ever been mid-drawing and thought it looked terrible, you are not alone. Just continue, push through. There is a chance something beautiful will come out the other side. If you don’t believe me, you can look up some speedpaints. Scrub through the video; you will see a point where the artwork looks terrible. Yet they continue, and eventually, it looks great.

As you become more experienced, it will be easier to tell when artwork will come out alright. You will be able to see the finished piece even on the uneven edges of the current shapes on the canvas. Try not to leave a piece of art unfinished.

Master even everyday tools! When I was younger, I went to a convention. Some artists drew characters, people amassed to watch. I thought it was great and began taking an interest in art. After a while, I learned that there were drawing pencils. So I asked my parents to get them. Then they asked me if I had mastered the #2 pencil. I, of course, replied that I hadn’t. Every time I asked, they said the same. Eventually, I said that I had, but I hadn’t. My parents recognized my hard work and agreed to buy it.

As I got more experienced, I understood how little I knew. But the lesson to make do with what you have stuck with me. Mastery even with the simplest tool can be profound.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Just A Boy

I just wanted to try writing, read it if you wish. Artist, College Student, and Human. Here is my website. https://izakovadia.carrd.co/